Reference Group

The Australian Government has appointed an independent, survivor-focused Reference Group.

The Reference Group will advise the Australian Government on the form and content of the National Apology.

The members of the Reference Group are:

  • The Hon Cheryl Edwardes AM (Chair)
  • Ms Caroline Carroll OAM
  • Ms Sharon Claydon MP
  • Ms Christine Foster
  • Senator Derryn Hinch
  • Mr Craig Hughes-Cashmore
  • Mr Steve Irons MP
  • Ms Hetty Johnston AM
  • Ms Leonie Sheedy OAM
  • Senator Rachel Siewert
  • Mr Richard Weston.

The diverse membership of the Reference Group ensures the views of a broad range of victims and survivors, their families and Members of Parliament from across Australia are represented.

The Secretariat supporting this Reference Group is based in the Attorney-General’s Department​.